Form + Function = An Awesome New Ballpoint Model

One of my favorite things about making pens is how I am able to use exotic materials and woods with figure and grain that most furniture makers would throw away because it lacks the strength and rigidity needed in their tables and chairs.  But in a pen I get to show off that crazy grain pattern or odd coloration, and this new pen model is designed to capture and highlight that unique form by utilizing a single, unbroken barrel design.  This pen design really shines with the irregular grain patterns found in burled wood by letting the grain lines continue the entire length of the pen.

Long Wood Clicker 01

A person could easily get so caught up in looking at the beauty of the wood and grain that they might fail to notice that this pen also includes a robust clicker mechanism making it an incredibly functional pen as well.  Like a great painting or photo shouldn’t have to compete with the frame it is hung in so also a nice piece of Olivewood or Buckeye Burl shouldn’t have to compete with the pen hardware.  With a smooth click mechanism, simple pocket clip, and straight forward tip the hardware stays minimal yet still fully functional.  To change out the refill one only has to unscrew the tip of the pen and swap out the old one with the new.  Any standard parker style refill will work in this pen, I have loaded up this pen with a Parker branded 0.7 blue gel refill which writes very smooth and stays pretty clean of ink globs and runs.

Long Wood Clicker 02

This particular pen was a Christmas present I made for my younger brother who tends to get whatever pen I’m testing out as his Christmas and Birthday presents from me.  So far he has only asked for more so I’ll take that as a good sign.

Long Wood Clicker 03

Thanks for looking, and if you would like me to make one of these new long wood clicker ballpoint pens for you, just see my about me page for my email address.

Leave a comment